Bangkok · Thailand

Bangkok Trip – Somboon Seafood

Sawadee kha~ this time I will write some places I visit during my biz trip to Bangkok (okay, training to be exact… I’m not a business woman after all). I ask my Thai colleagues, some of Singaporean colleagues who often come to Bangkok, and read some blogs to get the list of what to see and eat during my short break and extended weekend there.

So we start with my favorite seafood restaurant : Somboon Seafood ~ I heard that this restaurant has many branches, but the original one (first branch – Bantadthong)… was located somewhere (beats me, my Thai colleague drive us to the restaurant so I had no idea the exact address) not so far from National Stadium station… my colleague get lost first before finally find the restaurant. (see the note at the bottom of this post)

menu
Somboon Seafood

So what’s so special from this restaurant? Singapore did have good chili crabs and salted egg crabs that I love most from any other crab dishes, but the chili crab paste/sauce here even more special..! I want to take away the paste and cook with the crabs from home, lol~

chili crab
chili crab

…it didn’t look so big bcos only 3 of us eating and someone already got dinner before going to this restaurant… And it’s not so spicy because we ask them to adjust the spicy level (again, someone can’t take spicy food… I want to try their original spicy level tot…) so if you can’t take spicy food, they can make it not so spicy (for me it’s not spicy at all)

The other food you can order there quite normal. Actually I want to try all other crab dishes, but it’s just that we can’t eat much that time we decide to eat lightly (man, next time should come here with group of people to try more dishes…!!)

12370901_10153364779494001_8264632678743866650_o
Prawn with garlic and chili
1912138_10153364777559001_6341686186520778816_o
Steam fish in soy sauce

So… how much are they? I did take snapshot from their menu (taken on Nov 2015, hope the price not increased again whenever you visit them)

The Original Fried Curry Crab : S 380/ M 550 / L1,000 – 1,200 (THB)

Other dish there that I got my eyes on it but in the end not order (sob) :
Deep Fried Grouper with Crispy Basil : 380

Somehow I didn’t get the detail receipt on me but total cost for 3 persons was 2356 THB… so around 785 THB per person.

Well, my Thai colleague also mentioned they usually don’t come there often, only when there’s special occasion ^^” and there seems to be fake restaurant similar to Somboon Seafood where the tourist got trapped when ask taxi driver to bring them to Somboon. Taken from their website :

BEWARE!! FAKE SOMBOON SEAFOOD SCAM

Now there have been groups of people who have used names similar to Somboon Seafood as a scam to confuse and mislead both Thai and foreign customers into eating at their restaurants. Such restaurants work closely with some taxi drivers who would drive customers to their place and exceedingly overcharge them. By doing so, these taxi drivers receive a huge sum of commission. Therefore, We would like to inform you that Somboon Seafood does not have any branches located near railroad tracks or at Suan Lum Night Bazaar or in any other city.

Based from their website (www.SomboonSeafood.com) this is where Bantadthong branch :

895/6-21 ซ.จุฬาฯ 8 ถ.บรรทัดทอง แขวงวังใหม่ เขตปทุมวัน กรุงเทพฯ 10330

895/6-21 Soi Chula 8, Bantadthong Rd., Wangmai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330
TEL: 02-216-4203-5
FAX: 02-216-7999
OPEN: 16.00 – 23.30
bantadthong-02
My friend only recommend that branch and Samyan branch. He did try other branch in Central Embassy, he said not that good because the taste also different.
But if you find it difficult to find Somboon Seafood, you can also try Laemchareon Seafood (http://www.laemcharoenseafood.com), which I haven’t try but my Thai colleague say it’s also nice and affordable. They have branches in several shopping malls, and the recommended dishes there are Deep fried marinated snapper with sweet fish sauce (or topped with sweet and sour chili sauce), chili crab, Haw Mok (steamed curry fish), Tom Yam Kung, and friend shrimp cake 🙂
continue in the next Bangkok trip post~
2 thoughts on “Bangkok Trip – Somboon Seafood

Leave a Reply

