Singapore

Indonesian food in Singapore

Waw, seriously hectic life I had here in Singapore… anyway, this time I’d like to share some Indonesian foods that you can find in Singapore ๐Ÿ˜€ But honestly, no matter how good they are, they still so far from the real Indonesian foods in Indonesia ๐Ÿ˜‰ beats me… maybe in Indo they had ‘extra’ seasonings that foreigner can’t take (a.k.a food poisoning, lol). So here’s the list, but note this is up to my preferences… I know many places claimed to be Indonesian food which I see actually more to malay taste. Some ppl thought they’re the same, but nooooooooo…!! It’s so much different…! >____< Indo has so many food kinds from different regions which sometimes not available in other region (I’m so serious about this, hahaha)

You and Mee Noodle Place (Update : they move out from United Square already)

I’m staying around Novena, so this noodle restaurant is my favorite. Recommended menu are : Mee Kangkong (it’s Lomie in Indonesia – Jakarta, Bandung, & West Java to be precise) and Mee Ayam (dry).

They also have Mee Minced Pork, Mee Bakso, and Mee Kikil. I personally like their Mee Kangkong, Mee Bakso, and Mee Kikil :p not to mention I always add lots of chili (they have red chili, green chili, vinegar, and sweet soy sauce for you to adjust to your favorite taste~). And here you can order a glass of Teh Botol also ๐Ÿ˜€

Price wise they’re not too expensive, but not so many tables available so sometimes quite difficult to find table that can fit a group more than 6 ppl.

Mee Bakso
Mee Bakso
Mee kangkong
Mee kangkong
Mee Ayam
Mee Ayam (dry)
Mee Kikil
Mee Kikil

YOU AND MEE NOODLE PLACE
#B1-03, United Square Shopping Mall

101 Thomson road, Singapore, 307591
Open :Mon – Fri : 11am to 9pm
Sat : 10am to 9pm | Sun : 10am to 9pm

Sari Ratu

I came to this Padang restaurant once only to try their food. It’s quite authentic to the nasi padang from Indo (again, West Java style, as I’ve never been to Padang myself / Sumatra island).

The problem is only the price… so expensive consider the portion and compare to other foods in Singapore ๐Ÿ˜ฆ and most of the time I visit Lucky Plaza, other Indonesian / Filipino restaurants tempting me more…

Sari RatuSari ratu

Sari Ratu Restaurant
304,Orchard Road
#02-107 Lucky Plaza, Singapore

Bebek Goreng Pak Ndut

I tried this restaurant with my friends, we ordering some different menu, and because we sharing the foods we order, I recommend to take their original smashed duck~ the shredded version became too dry and although original still come with bones, no worries because its not that messy ๐Ÿ˜€

But note their chili is SUPER spicy…!!! You can still enjoy less-spicy (and still yummy) version : Smashed duck with green chili. I like the green chili, so I’d prefer this version since my spicy tolerance not as high as when I was so crazy with spicy foods in Indo back then (that super crazy Indomie / fried rice / chicken wing from Richeese, lol). Yeah so I prefer the smashed duck with green chili, that’s much recommended :p

Bebek gorengBebek goreng

Bebek Goreng Pak Ndut
Lucky Plaza, 304 Orchard Road #01-42/43 & 44 Singapore

Open : 11:00AM – 10:00 PM

Ayam Penyet Ria & Ayam Penyet President

Both Ayam Penyet Ria and Ayam Penyet President are located in Lucky Plaza… Ayam Penyet Ria seems to be more popular, but I prefer to go to Ayam Penyet President as they have my favorite dish : Ikan Pesmol~ but since they both have ‘ayam penyet’ in their menu, I think Ayam Penyet Ria has better ‘ayam penyet’.

Sometimes Ayam Penyet Ria too crowded, and you can try Ayam Penyet President instead. They have more variety to try, like Ikan Pesmol (huhu, my favorite, but still can’t beat the best Gurame Pesmol from Ikan Bakar Cianjur in my hometown XD I’d blog about my hometown eating place later), Lotek (steamed veggie with peanut sauce), and some other dessert and soups~ (but I m not recommend the Sayur Asem (Sour Soup) here… no, actually I never find any good Sayur Asem in Singapore so far)

Ayam penyet presiden
Ayam penyet presiden

Ayam Penyet President
Lucky Plaza #03-36/37, 304 Orchard Road,ย Singapore 238863
Open : Weekdays 11:30 AM – 9.30 PM (last order 9 PM)
Weekend/Public Holiday 11:00 AM – 9.30 PM (last order 9 PM)

Ayam Penyet Ria (Lucky Plaza branch)
#01-45, #04-25/26, Lucky Plaza, 304 Orchard Road
Open : 11:00 – 21:00

…maybe that’s so far I can write now… will update again if I found good Indonesian food restaurant in Singapore~ or you can comment so I can put my review ๐Ÿ˜€

3 thoughts on “Indonesian food in Singapore

Leave a Reply

