Singapore

Singapore’s chicken rice

Hello there… I’ve been super busy since the last post (T__T how I wish to have more free time for myself)..

So, I’ve been living in Singapore since June 2011 and there is this food you can always found in the food court / hawker center : Chicken Rice. Well it might come with pork / duck also, but most of this kind of stall will have chicken (boiled and/or roasted).

I think for singaporean who travel overseas for quite long time, this is the food they going to miss 😀 even when Gordon Ramsay came to Singapore to challenge the local foods chef, one of the menu was chicken rice. Representative for the chicken rice is Tian Tian Chicken Rice (which I haven’t tried yet… because my office is not near from the hawker center & I always go around different offices depend on the projects… okay I will try it someday and update my post here, lol Updated : finally I tried Tian Tian Chicken Rice in Maxwell food centre… not so special for me)

Tian Tian Chicken Rice
Tian Tian Chicken Rice

As for me, so far I’ve found good chicken rice restaurants that I think I’ll miss them when I travel out of Singapore too 😀

1. Loy Kee
This one located at Balestier road (I think there is another branch in Woodlands too). The chicken rice here very good, good atmosphere and nice service too. You should try their Fried wonton too! That’s my favorite side dish menu~ Minus point is only that after you done eating there, your cloths and hair smell like chicken rice ^^”

Loy Kee's Roasted chicken
Loy Kee’s Roasted chicken
Fried Wonton
Fried Wonton

2. Wee Nam Kee
I tried this chicken rice restaurant in United Square mall (near to Novena MRT). The roasted chicken taste good too~ but feels like too much soy sauce flavour (roasted one). They have several other menus that also taste good, eg. Salted egg pork. But this place often very crowded, you might need to queue, and the table quite small, and the staffs not so friendly 😦 not that comfortable to eat there.

Wee Nam Kee's roasted chicken
Wee Nam Kee’s roasted chicken
Salted egg pork ribs
Salted egg pork ribs

Price wise, that two places have similar price range, but Wee Nam Kee slightly more expensive. So for me, I would prefer Loy Kee over Wee Nam Kee.
I did try chicken rice in Boon Tong Kee too, at Balestier road also, but it’s not so special… they have other chinese food menu that much more worth to try.

BUT… actually if you talking about the rice (hainan chicken rice) and the chicken meat (roasted / boiled)… I can say that Boon Tong Kee have the best rice (very fragrance, not sticky, not too hard/soft), but for the chicken meat, I like Loy Kee’s roasted chicken most 😀

So if you visit Singapore, pls try the chicken rice on that 2 places I mentioned 😀

——
Loy Kee Best Chicken Rice
342 Balestier Rd, Singapore 329774
Open: 10:00 am – 10:00 pm
Nearest MRT : Novena/Toa Payoh (still need to take bus)
Bus : 21,130,131,145,186 (alight at Shaw Plaza / Aft Pegu Rd)

Wee Nam Kee Hainanese Chicken Rice Restaurant
101 Thomson Road, #01-08 United Square, 307591
Open : 10:30 am – 10:30 pm
Nearest MRT : Novena (United Square mall)

Boon Tong Kee (they have many branch, but I tried from here)
399 /401 /403 Balestier Road, Singapore 329801
Open : Monday – Saturday : 11.00AM – 4.45PM & 5.30PM – 4.30AM (Sunday until 3AM)

Tian Tian Hainanese Chicken Rice (they have other branch in Joo Chiat too)
Maxwell Food Centre on Maxwell Road
Open : Tue – Sun: 11:00 – 20:00
Closed: Mon

Leave a Reply

